José Montilla Aguilera



Professional experience:

  • Mayor of Cornellá de Llobregat (1985-2004).
  • He held various posts in the Barcelona Provincial Council, of which he was President (2003-2004).
  • Member of Parliament (2004-2006).
  • Minister for Industry, Trade and Tourism with full powers in the field of Energy (2004-2006). During his time as Minister, he launched the Renewable Energy Plan 2005-2010, the Energy Saving and Efficiency Strategy 2005-2007, the National Coal Restructuring Plan 2006-2012, the Avanza Plan, the planning and deployment of DTT and the creation of INTECO (predecessor of the current INCIBE). He was also a coproponent of the first National Emission Reduction Plan (2004) and of the I+D+I Plan 2004-2007. In addition, he stood out for promoting the adoption of legislative reforms to strengthen the powers of the National Energy Commission and to liberalise the energy sector, as well as reforms of the internal gas and electricity markets.
  • President of the Catalan Government and Member of the Catalonia Parliament (2006-2010).
  • Senator representing the Catalonia Parliament (2011-2019). As Senator, he has been Chairman of the Budget Committee and Spokesman for the Economy and Competitiveness, Finance and Public Administration, and Industry, Energy and Tourism Committees. He has been behind the following Bills: Audit of Accounts; Independent Authority for Fiscal Responsibility; Corporate Tax; Urgent Measures in Bankruptcy Matters; Fiscal Measures for Energy Sustainability; Guarantee of Supply and Increase of Competition in the Insular and Extrapeninsular Electrical Systems; Fiscal Measures for Energy Sustainability.
  • He was executive chairman of the Board of Trustees of the School of Technical Industrial Engineering of Barcelona (a centre attached to the UPC) (1987-1991).
  • Member of the Boards of Directors of: Tabasa (1983-1987), Port of Barcelona (1987-1991), and WTC Almeda Park (2000-2004).
  • Managing Director of the venture capital company Proelsa (1987-1991).
  • Chairman of the Board of Directors of various municipal companies in Cornella de Llobregat: Precsa, Tecsalsa, Emducsa, among others, until 2004.